De-Piratisation


Imagine. Just imagine.

You wake up one day, about 18 months ago, with a smudge on your eye and your eye doctor tells you, you have a fast evolving cataract.

That cataract evolves and encompasses your whole eye, and even somehow manages to infect your other eye and your smudge grows, not just in size, but from one smudge into two and you rub and rub, but no matter how much you try to clear the blurriness from your eyes, your eyes become a fog and you really are the “Gorilla in the Mist.” Except you’re not actually a gorilla, and the mist is of your own body’s making.

Things start to disappear. Letters. Road signs. Your dog. Steps. Whole buildings.

So you go to your cataract operation in all faith. Repeatedly having been told that the procedure is so routine, it’s a doddle. As simple as removing a bogey from your nose in the morning. So you merrily allow a doctor to stab a needle into your face and tap, tap, tap on your cataract, until it breaks. Hoover it up and replace your damaged lens with a shiny new one.

He piratises you with an appropriate eye patch and shouts, ‘Next!’ while you shuffle out of the building.

Imagine you return to your eye doctor and discover, actually you still can’t see steps, or number plates, or loved ones’ faces or buses or almost anything at all because your simple eye operation has gone absolutely sideways.

So, you go to a different hospital, try to save your sight, get a gas bubble purposely inserted into your eye and realise everyone is in a slight panic about what to do with your other foggy eye.

Months go by and your first eye attempts to heal, but can’t quite get there, and you discover, the charlatan first doctor replaced your old dodgy lens with a new completely wrongly calculated lens (not by a single dioptre, or a mere couple of dioptres but by 8.5 dioptres).

So, you go to your new, competent, awesome doctor, with your very dodgy lens and your somewhat damaged retina and your other by now white eye, and he takes you in his capable hands. Tells you to be brave and doesn’t give you a shot in your eye or even a chill pill to help you along your journey. Instead, he decides, on what seems an impulse, to operate on both wayward eyes simultaneously through your clenched teeth and fists and buttocks.

He doesn’t tap, but he cuts and pulls and he pokes. And you feel more than slightly nauseous.

Imagine, the next day when he tells you, bandage removed, with a light pair of glasses you’ll be back to 100% vision in your now ‘good’ eye and 80 in your ‘bad’ one.

Imagine the elation, the joy, the tears, the ranting thanks, the unclenching of buttocks as you float back to your room.

Then imagine: you re-enter your room, go into the bathroom and glance up towards the mirror where you are greeted by the face that you haven’t actually properly seen for 18 months.

Just imagine the shrieks, the “oh my fucking gods”, the shock, the despair as you discover wrinkle after wrinkle, grey hair after grey hair.
Including a wiry fucker growing out of the centre of your face.

34 Replies to “De-Piratisation”

  1. 🤭🤣
    Erm, I mean, I’m sorry to read that, Sarah. It must’ve been terrible. Those wiry ones are much thicker, too!
    Pleased you’ve got your eyes sorted, though. 🙂

    1. They really are!
      Thanks Tom, I had a few weeks there where I wasn’t allowed to read and write again, hence my tardy reply. But I’m back on the right track again now.
      It’s not really surprising I grew grey hairs, thinking about it!!

  2. Argh…too well written. Made me squirm as though it was happening to me. I’m afraid that if I ever need an eye op they’ll have to completely knock me out or I’ll just accept blindness. I’m a bit squeamish around eyes…

    1. So sorry for my slow response. I had some further issues and I wasn’t allowed to read and write for a while. But I’m back again now, finally!

      I can completely understand that. On the run up for the first operation I had the feeling I wanted to pedal backwards, if you know what I mean.

  3. You have been through the wars with your eyes. So glad that the non-charlatan doctor fixed things. I have a lens implant after a cataract and I mostly enjoyed the new vision. Like you, the mirror is not my friend…

    1. I’m sorry for my late reply – I had a reading/writing ban from the doctor, but I have the all clear now.
      I’m glad to hear your new lens is working well for you!! My left one is pretty good now but the right one still has some issues. Mostly with lights in the evening. You know when a driver is driving behind you with their full beam on? It’s a bit like that but just in a section of the eye. And my retina is permanently damaged exactly in the centre of the focal point. When I concentrate during the eye tests, it’s a bit like there’s a little smudge in the middle of the numbers or letters. Sometimes the numbers disappear completely. But things are MUCH better than they were. And I’m really happy about that.

      1. I am so glad that your eyesight is much better. My lens implant was not a total success but I can see better. I hope your eyesight will get even better with time.

        1. Thank you Kerry.
          Sight is so precious. I heard one of the doctors at the hospital saying that all eye surgery damages the eye. He said having laser surgery to correct vision issues (like a lot of people do, so they don’t need to wear glasses) damages the eye. I had never thought about it like that, I’d always thought of the laser surgery as correcting the vision. I never had it, though some friends did.

  4. I am very happy for you that you got a competent doctor to do surgery on your eyes because, if the other doctor had known what he was doing…you would have already had your site back. I was fortunate enough to find a doctor that had very good review and, in fact, said to be the best cataract surgeon in the area. My site was fading fast and with the pandemic I had to wait for surgery but am happy now with the results. Congrats on your ability to see once again because site is a gift and a magnificent sense to have. Do take good care, my friend.

    1. Thank you Renee.
      I think you only really realize just how important your sight is when it starts to fail. It has been a bit of a nightmare, I do admit. But I can see again now. Not perfectly. But I can see.
      They think at some point I’ll have problems with my ‘good’ eye. Then I’ll need that bubble operation again. Hopefully it won’t come to that, or if it does it will not be for a long time.
      I am really happy that you got your sight back. Probably, like me you kept saying, I can see that…. Caterpillar (or whatever!). So exciting!!

      1. I had to wait for surgery as during the pandemic my doctor was swamped and only taking the most serious of patients. By the time he got to me I had taken two pretty bad falls but I have always been resilient and ultimately bounce back. But, I too do not have perfect site. My vision is at 20/20 which is perfect but I will always have my floaters. I have had them for years and although it would be nice not to have them it would take another surgery and then they would probably come back. So, I am happy I no longer have to wear glasses after 59yrs of doing so. It’s an odd feeling but one I am happy to have. I am happy for you! It is wonderful to see so much of what you have missed. I marvel every day at the tiniest of things.

        1. The pandemic really played havoc with health services. And the aftershocks are still being felt here. My son had to drive really far away to get a simple check on some moles, which were deemed urgent by his GP. All the local skin doctors (there are loads) couldn’t check him over 6 months.

          I had some floaters after two of the surgeries, but they seemed to eventually break down and go away. I hope that happens for you!

          I was supposed to be without glasses too, but it hasn’t worked out like that. I can see better now close up without glasses. So I have to take them off to read or go on the computer, which is nice. Not sure how it will work with driving.
          What’s nice is the idea of wearing a little makeup too. Before all of this I could hardly find my face without my glasses on!

          1. I opted to spend more money so that I did not need glasses for distance anymore and could even see up close better. When I wore glasses I wore a trifocal lens. When they removed my damaged lens from my eyes they replaced them with a trifocal Intraocular lens so it is like having my trifocal glass lens inside my eye. I still need readers to read fine print at times and still have my floaters which I’ve had since I was a young woman but overall I’m happy with the results. I also find headlights on cars to have a halo effect and wear my sunglasses a lot due to the every day glare from outdoors. But I can see so many things now that I could not before since I was a girl so I appreciate what technology can now do. Cataracts are simply not a good thing for people who highly depend on their sight. My mother had surgery for them in both her eyes when she was still here and my dad in one eye. Both my parents are now gone but I do believe such things tend to run in families. But, as I say, I am happy with the results and I hope you, too, will have many more years of good sight. Be well.

            1. That’s the same as me! I also opted for the multifocal lenses and paid a lot of extra money for them. But the doctor at the second hospital said that they would never have worked for me as my eyesight was too bad. 🤷 Additionally he discovered that the lens was miscalculated by a huge amount. So in the eye which was already operated I now additionally have an add on lens. In the other eye just has a simple lens so I can see well close up, but it also means that I can see a lot better without glasses at a distance as well. So I can now cook without glasses on which is awesome!

              I’m glad that you had pretty good results. I think I the multifocal had worked for my eye, it would have been an amazing opportunity.

              Thank you. There is an issue with my newly operated eye that the doctors believe will develop into a problem within the next 5 years and that I’ll need further surgery, but I am grateful I can see right now and making the most of it.
              Today I noticed the bathroom sink is damaged. I was really shocked but my husband told me it’s been like that for years! Apparently the kids were washing stones in it! 🙄😂

              1. I have been advised that some blurriness can develop in either eye but they have a simple procedure that can correct it. My vision will never be perfectly clear due to the number of floaters I have but to me that’s alright.

  5. Thank goodness the second doctor was around to correct the quack’s mistakes. This read like such a poignant piece that I was afraid it didn’t have a happy ending, but I’m so glad and relieved it did. As always your ability to stay positive despite suffering so much always inspires me. I would have never written something with a little humour in it if I was in your situation. I would have just whined and whined.

    1. Sorry it has taken me so long to reply. My doctor said I wasn’t allowed to read and write for a few weeks.
      Thank you! In all honesty, it has been really tough. But I think my humour helps me to get to the other side. It’s probably my survival mechanism!!
      And don’t doubt it, I whined some days too!!

  6. Oh Sarah, I am so glad you can see again, even if the view is not as pleasing as it used to be…

    In all seriousness, what a relief to hear all turned out well. Hope everything else in your life is going well.

    Hugs!
    Janie

    1. Thank you Janie! Sorry I am responding so late, I was told by my doctor not to read and write for a few weeks. But I’m allowed to again now. Hooray!

      Well, things are about to get very, very busy here for the six months at least. I start teaching again in November, I’ve set myself a writing goal – so I actually make proper time to do the thing I love, we’re knocking out the kitchen and building a new one. The list goes on and on and on! I’m slightly daunted by it all but I feel very motivated. Especially about writing again. I’ve missed it so much.

      How are you doing? Feel free to drop me an email and let me know your news.

  7. Oh my goodness, this brought back memories for me of twenty years ago, when I developed a hole in the macula of my left eye. One thing after another, horror after horror – but I survived, and though my sight is not what I’d like it to be, I function OK. Gute Besserung!

    1. I’m glad you recovered mostly! It sounds like a very similar situation, I had a hole too, just before the second op I had less than 10% vision in the one eye. It was pretty frightening, especially as it all happened very fast.
      They suspect it will happen to my other eye too at some point, hence all of the issues after that operation. But so far so good. I’m just planning to do what I can at the moment. Perhaps I will be lucky and it won’t happen at all.

      Thank you!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

THE SCRIBBLING DAD

Writing about my experiences as a Dad of two Daughters and things around me!

SPiNNiNG ViSiONS

I probably shouldn't be telling you all of this, but I don't really know how not to. I'm Makenna. Welcome to my blog.

roughwighting

Life in a flash - a bi-weekly storytelling blog

Keep it alive

A look at life, achieving good physical and mental health and happiness

Equinoxio

A Blog about magic, fiction and art

Glen's Travels

History, Photography, and Travel in Western Canada

Nine Cent Girl

Fashion, Family, Food... Life!

Kate Shrewsday

A thousand thousand stories

WrookieSchU

Live life 🙌🏼

Sarsm's Blog

Quest for humour in my existence

Ionian Scribe

Content & Copywriting

The Snow Melts Somewhere

Life with twins, dreams, and stories

catterel

A Cat's Eye View

Poetry Fluff

No-Fear Poetry

The Year Without Wimbledon

My coronavirus pandemic diary

Where to next?

Riding in cars with dogs

RaduH's Blog

Life with kids and tech. Everybody likes a good story.