Dearest Dianne


When I started this blog I didn’t quite know what to expect. I guess that’s the same for everyone.

I guess, at first, I hoped that my family and perhaps a few friends would read it and like it. In the back of my mind, if I’m honest, I hoped that maybe a stranger or two might just read my posts and enjoy them. For me that felt like the ultimate success. I still remember the first ‘stranger’ commenting. I ran around the house shrieking, I was that excited.

Now I have over 1000 followers and I hardly know any of them personally. It’s a massive compliment.

But the hugest surprise of all is the new friendships that I’ve made. I can’t even begin to tell you how important you fellow bloggers have become to me. I think about you and your problems. You make me laugh out loud with your comments and your own posts. I learn from you. I rejoice at your achievements and feel sad when things go wrong in your lives.

Some of you have become Facebook buddies. Others like to email. A few of you have even sent me thoughtful gifts which have meant the world to me.

The blogosphere is a truly incredible world to be a part of. And I thank you all for every contribution.

One blogger who truly stood out for me was Dianne of Schmidleysscribblins.  She regularly commented on my blog and I loved to read hers. She was smart and funny. Passionate about plants, politics and her family.

Sadly on the 24th of March, 2017 Dianne passed away.

I am filled with great sadness. She was a truly awesome, inspirational lady. And I for one, will miss her greatly.

Today would have been her 75th birthday. Her daughter has written a beautiful eulogy for her and posted it on Dianne’s blog here.

Dianne inspired me with her love of her garden. Finally, I managed to grow some kind of lily. It only bloomed for a couple of days, but it did bloom!!

This is for you Dianne, with love.

“It’s so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone.” – John Steinbeck, The Winter of Our Discontent

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

14 thoughts on “Dearest Dianne”

  1. Beautiful tribute, Sarah. I was not aware of Dianne’s death so I thank you greatly. I wrote a comment on her daughter’s eulogy page. Thanks again for passing this on.

    1. It’s really sad Al. She was one of the special ones. I am sure her daughter will like that very much Al!
      I hope you are well!

  2. What a beautiful tribute!

    I think we started blogging about the same time… and yes, we made some blogging buddies who stood the test of time.

    But then there were others who simply disappeared. Remember ‘Classy Rose’? I never did know what happened to her. I tracked her down once via FB and she was about to have a major op. Never heard from her again.

    Although I stopped bloggin for quite a while I never forgot my buddies. We were a supportive group when blogging was still relatively new. Thanks for commenting once again on my blog!

    I love the lily you finally grew. It reminds me of a nerine lily.

    1. I am so glad to see you blogging again. I noticed several of your posts pop in my inbox lately and I am looking forward to reading them. Time seems to run away from me at the moment because I am teaching so much. I’m sorry I don’t remember Classy Rose.
      I’m glad you like the lily. You and Pseu also inspired me so much with my garden. Remember when I had that evil bamboo? My daughter said the other day it’s amazing how good a gardener I’ve become – and I had to think of all you guys, your support and inspiration.

  3. It is truly amazing how one may never meet the people they encounter on their sites but still form connections. I am sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. Wonderful homage to her here.

    1. Thank you Renee! Yes it’s totally amazing. Blogging is a great way to ‘meet’ people you would never, ever have the opportunity to actually meet in real life. People that can really get you.

Leave a Reply

