glass cracked – water splashed


You cannot possibly know just how far one and a half litres of boiling water can actually stray.

I do.

I acquired this knowledge just this morning.

I am in the process of listening to my body and it told me, that after an eternity of feeling sluggish, what I could probably do with, is some kind of detox.

Now, my mind told me that it could not possibly face the starvation kind.

So I ransacked Pinterest and found a delicious looking recipe for a fat-flushing, kidney-resuscitating kind of drink.

I went to the local supermarket and purchased something for dinner and fat-flushing water additives.

Unfortunately, I’d raided Pinterest somewhat excessively, and I hadn’t actually bothered to write the necessary ingredients for my fat-flushing beverage down. So I got confused and bought a mixture of completely wrong, as in not-fitting-together, fat-flushers. Like ginger instead of mint and mandarins instead of grapefruit – that sort of thing. And I really, really wanted to do it by-the-Pin, because I’m new to the game.

So I found myself scrutinising Pinterest again, with the ingredients that I actually had to hand – I’m not setting foot outside the house again today, unless someone’s life depends on it: the ground is a mixture of ice and snow. I discovered an interesting recipe entitled ‘Ginger Orange Detox Water’. I also found an old orange in the fruit bowl.  Perfect!

I set to work in the kitchen, peeling knobbly ginger. Did I need to peel it? I just assumed so – it didn’t say in the recipe.  And I scrubbed the not-yet-mouldy orange. All good. Then I approached the jug issue.

I took two large glass jugs from the cupboard and tried to remember which one was the 1.5 litre jug and which one was the 1 litre jug. They both have completely different shapes, but I suspected that the one with the handle could hold more liquid than the other one.

I cleverly tested out my theory by filling the handled jug with cold water and pouring it into the other jug. Smugly, I proved myself right.

I then realised that I had a surplus of cold water in the bottom of the handled jug, and the recipe clearly stated to pour boiling water over my ginger. I don’t like to waste water, so I decided to tip the excess into a pot plant in the living room. In my haste, I more splashed than poured, which splattered a good splattering of soil up the living room wall. The dog was useless. She didn’t come anywhere near in an attempt to lick up the mess for me, like she regularly does with spilt coffee or squirted apple juice. No, she just lay in her cosy bed and looked on. And I had to wipe the wall down all by myself.

I raced back to the kitchen, to my peeled ginger and ready-to-be-sliced not-yet-mouldy orange and popped the kettle on.

I did notice that the jug really was quite cold. But I felt, you know, somewhat confident.

I did think, for a brief moment, cold glass jug, mega-hot water, good idea? And I think, that might be why, in hindsight, when I poured the water into the jug, directly after it boiled, I stepped back, hesitantly, from the worktop.

The glass cracked and the water overwhelmed the work surface.

The dog sprinted to my side.

Water cascaded from the counter to the floor. An immense puddle formed and I swathed the whole room in kitchen towel.

You may think that 1.5 litres isn’t much volume, when it’s sitting there all calm and collected, minding its own business, in a glass jug. But when you set it free, be warned, it will take over your kitchen.

It will drip down rapidly filling your drawers. And you will wish, that you had never invested in all that Tupperware. All those pesky lids and lunch boxes, all those freezer tubs that are never stacked, just thrown into the drawer, causing all kinds of calamities: space loss, drawer jams and never being able to find the right lid for the right base at any given time. It will drench your cutlery and you will be forced to completely empty the drawer that you’ve been meaning to ‘clean out’ for yonks. You’ll discover that you have an odd number of chopsticks and 10 medicine spoons when you really only need one. The McDonald’s straw that you kept, pristinely wrapped in it’s paper packet will be soggy and you won’t know what to do with the wrapper because the paper recycling people clearly stated ‘No wet paper’.

You may well make the mistake of wiping the floor first. Unwinding realms of shop’s own kitchen roll that you’d stockpiled during a special offer period, and hurling it at the floor. It may seem like the right thing to do, because the dog is there, looking for a random lick. And you’re not sure there aren’t any tiny pieces of glass lurking in the liquid. And you don’t want to splash through a puddle just to get to the work surface and then traipse moist footprints across the room each time you walk to the bin and back.

Intermittently you might take a desperate shot at the drawers. Ramming in wads of save-the-kitchen roll.

But it will all be pointless. As you’ll realise when you come face to face with the onslaught on the tabletop.

A thin layer of water covers everything.  You’ll end up yelling at your cheap-buy kitchen roll because it has no soaking power whatsoever. The lake on the tabletop will remain steady and sure.

The water will have swamped everything. Except for, that is, the plant in need of water on the windowsill. You will have to dry the kettle base out for the upcoming year to make absolutely sure there are absolutely no dangers of electric shocks in the near future.

You will swish and swash the water towards the bread and away from the bread in a desperate attempt to mop the surface. It won’t make any difference. And when you finally pick up the bread, you’ll discover yet another puddle underneath.

Then you’ll be horrified to spot medication. Floating in the pond. You’ll let out a shriek and start to pray that your daughter’s brand new inhaler is still fully functioning and not now a muggy, chemical clog.

Next to it you’ll spot a packet of fallen-from-the-shelf travel sickness tablets and you’ll pop them, merrily, on the hot radiator. In full-on rescue mode. You will regret this later. When you double check the instructions which read: “Do not store over 25°C.” And you will have to throw them away.

The Italian biscuits you’ve been savouring since Christmas, as a treat for your coffee, will bathe themselves in water and you’ll wish you’d pursued the match-the-Tupperware-parts test instead of clipping the packet haphazardly closed.

You may choose to rescue your freshly peeled ginger, and without too much consideration, pop it into a random glass in the glass cupboard. This moment will come back to haunt you. While you’re still deliberating if the ginger is a safe-to-consume, glass-splinter-free zone, and thus forgetting leaving the ginger in the said glass, in the said cupboard, you will face a barrage of questions in the  ‘Why is there ginger in a glass in the cupboard, mum?’ test later on. Questions such as:

  • Does it keep flies away?
  • Are you trying to make the glass taste of ginger?
  • Does the flavour intensify when it’s sitting out?

The Fairy liquid bottle, will, by this time, be spawning its own bubbles and as you see them grow; you may have a flashback to that time you first tried to utilise a twin tub.

You left the twin tub on, all alone and on returning found the room completely filled with bubbles. You had to call your flatmate’s mother to come and assist you to de-bubble the room.

You’ll wipe the tabletop and mop your brow and then notice your already cleaned floor is totally wet again.

You’ll realise at this point that you are very much in need of reinforcements. Coffee and a biscuit. So you’ll open the cutlery drawer, automatically, and discover, that the bloody thing is full of saturated kitchen roll and even more water. You’ll end up dismantling the built in cutlery tray and finding an overflow of water underneath. Which is snaking its way into the plastic crap drawer below. You will be forced, by water, to empty out each bit of not-so-fantastic plastic, and wish, that’s what you’d just have done earlier. You’ll have to wash and dry: all of the lids, all of the lunch boxes, the snack cups, the water bottles, the tumblers, the not-stacked stackable freezer boxes and the picnic plates.

Then you’ll have to re-mop the floor.

There is only one happy moment in this sad story: the moment you’ll realise that 1.5l of water could not stray as far as the carousel cupboard. With all it’s flour and sugar and teabags. 

You’ll sigh a relieved sigh, salvage your Italian biscuits and listen to your body – which says: gorge.

 

23 thoughts on “glass cracked – water splashed”

  1. Oh no!!!!!

    You might not have been able to detox your body, but it sounds like you at least detoxed the kitchen. There is nothing quite like an unexpected calamitous mess to make you do that deep clean you’ve been avoiding forever….

    I brought Rupert to town with me for the weekend to keep me company and give him a break form 9 wiggly, playful puppies and two still youthful full grown German shepherds. But alas, Leif has not bathed that dog in an eternity. After petting him you could wash your hands, but all that dirt in his fur coming into contact with my bed and carpet after him lolling about on them made me cringe. So we stopped on the way home from the farm and bought dog cleaning supplies. I climbed into the tub and bathed him before bed. Then I noticed his collar was coated, COATED I tell you, in mud so thick in some places it obscured the weave of the material. So naturally that needed to be washed. But carpets and bedding would be saved.

    Saturday we experienced a freakishly warm, sunny day with a melting of snow. So I thumbed my nose at studying and took Rupert for a long, lovely walk along the Big Lake. See where this is going…?

    Three miles of muddy, slushy boardwalk later my clean dog was clean no longer. He left muddy footprints all over my car upholstery. I had to wash the bed spread. I had to change the covers on the cushions. I had to comb muddy dog hair and sand out of the wool carpet (not mine, the landlord’s naturally). I had to get out the vacuum attachment and clean between the cushions. I went through half a roll of a sticky paper lint roller cleaning up the fabrics on the furnishings that couldn’t go in the wash and were awkward to vacuum. And then it stayed warmish on Sunday. Every time he went out to do dog business it was a nightmare containing the mess he dragged in.

    Leif came to town last night to pick up supplies for the farm and stopped by for dinner. When he left, I sent Rupert back to the farm with him. I couldn’t take dealing with the doggie mess. I never remembered it being so bad before. But then I suppose a year living sans dog lowers your tolerance to their doggie-dirtiness.

    1. Your story made me laugh so much!!! Thank you!!!
      Now I am so glad that we have no carpets or bedrooms downstairs for our dog to drag her muck to. I never realised what a blessing that is until I read your comment!!! Dogs seem to have a magnetic attraction to muck. Even though our little one hates getting wet (seriously we have to actually drag her forcibly out of the house when it’s raining outside) she still manages to turn her white paws brown with alarming regularity. 😀

  2. This is an hilarious anecdote (especially when it isn’t happening to me). And I’m so glad to know that we are not the only ones with unstacked Tupperware in our cupboard!

  3. Goodness me, remind me to never try anything from Pinterst unless its a clever way ro peel ginger. Isn’t it strange how when we begin some taks we have that nagging voice (sometimes a husband) saying ‘don’t do that,’ but we do it anyway. From whence comes that drive to complete something how ever illogical and dangerous? I blame my disasters on senility…what’s your excuse?

    PS dogs never lick up the things you want them to.

    1. I have no idea what my excuse is. I have always been like this… Ditsy… 😉 I have taken to slicing the knobbly bits away from ginger with a knife – life is too short!!

      And dogs – they always lick the things you don’t want them too. 😀

  4. You are hysterically funny! I have never spilled that much water but even a glass of water seems to take on a life of its’ own, like the old movie “The Blob”, a nasty stuff that grows and consumes everything in its’ path (I am dating myself here) and seemingly cannot be stopped. I just know that inside the water there are tiny microscopic babies forming…hence…the spreading of it everywhere. Loved this post and needed it today. Be well. 🙂

    1. I’m so sorry it has taken me so long to reply. Our house seems to be constantly full of sick people and my attention keeps being diverted elsewhere!!!
      BUT WE ARE ALL WELL AGAIN NOW!! So I am taking the opportunity…. And I am trying to avoid thinking about the fact that I have to go to the dentist this afternoon. I really hate going to the dentist!!!
      I am so glad you enjoyed my post!! 😀

Leave a Reply

