Page Three Prankster


So yesterday, I managed to pull the wool over my second eldest’s  eyes. I should probably say at this point, that she’s now the tender age of sixteen.

My lovely Lori. My naive Lori.

I’d been reading the news as she entered the room. And I just so happened to have the article sitting in the perfect position for my little joke.

This, intriguing picture of Green MP Caroline Lucas sat right bang in the middle of my screen.

Caroline Lucas

I explained to Lori, “That’s Caroline Lucas from the Green Party. She’s been campaigning for the removal of all page three’s from all books and magazines in the UK.”

She looked at me incredulously. “What? But why?”

So I continued, “She finds page three’s offensive, apparently.”

“But what about the other pages. What about page four?”

“No.” I answered, somehow keeping a straight face (which is a miracle for me). “She finds all the other pages fine.”

“Page two could be a problem, if it’s on the other side of three though.” I added in a sympathetic tone.

“But that’s just ridiculous…” she cried, tired eyes opening wider and wider.

I interrupted, “She’s got quite a lot of support, apparently. Mumsnet. Breast Cancer UK and the Guide Association have all publicly agreed with her. They were quoted as calling it “disrespectful and embarrassing.” I indicated the appropriate words in the article to prove my point.

For once in her life, Lori appeared not to know what to say.

Again, I pointed to the article, this time directly at the picture, “Look! She even had t-shirts printed!”

♦♦♦

Bless. Isn’t it lovely to be so young and innocent?

Don’t worry. I did tell her the truth. I started to laugh,  so I had to. Here’s the actual article on the BBC website: How Page Three fell out of step with the times.

16 thoughts on “Page Three Prankster”

    1. And I’ve just read the news. The boobs on page three are back again. How disappointing! Not that I ever bought the Sun in my life so I guess I’m not their target audience.

    1. And I’ve just read the news. The boobs on page three are back again. How disappointing! Not that I ever bought the Sun in my life, so I guess I’m not their target audience.

Leave a Reply

