So…


I’m on the mend.

Tortoisely slowly, I’m on the mend.

And, to be honest with you, that’s not been easy.

You see, I’m more of a hare than a tortoise: busily running through life. (What kind of analogy is that for children anyway? Slowly and methodically wins the race? Shouldn’t it be: speed, practice and focus is what’ll make you a champion?)

Apparently, I’ve been the victim of some unwanted role reversal. I’ve switched from being a hare to being a tortoise and it’s been excruciating.

Because, quite frankly, I have very little patience.

I tried to learn patience: it is a virtue, after all. But I failed miserably.

However, I’m finally, irrevocably, for once and for all on the mend.

Thank bloody fuck for that.

30 thoughts on “So…”

  1. Sarah, that is such good news! Not the slow going – I know it is frustrating the hell out of you – but the right direction you are moving in. Keep that course, sweetie. And if you ever need a hand to pull you along, just say the word.
    *tight hugs*
    Mar
    x

  2. Glad to hear the good news. Progress is good – however small it might seem. My hubby is in ICU, critically ill, in an induced coma and on a ventilator but each day I see a tiny improvement in his condition and my heart sings!
    Baby steps are good Sarah.

    1. Thank you Barb.

      I’m so sorry to read about your husband Barb but I’m really glad you’re seeing improvements. How long has he been in ICU? I wish you much strength and positivity in the coming weeks.

      Hugs xx

      1. He’s been there four days now, but like I said – for you and for him, baby steps are good. Glad you are on the mend too.

      2. I’m glad too. I just take one day at a time. x

        I wish I could give you a huge hug. All the best to you and your husband.

  3. Sarah, Happy to see you among the living. It only took me 15 years from breakdown to feeling 100% OK, during which time I divorced two husbands and married a third around my 40th birthday. Now that’s what real tortoises do!! Dianne

    PS not recommending divorce. It was a side-effect for me who made bad choices during a period of unbelievable turmoil and stress, i.e. marrying for “security.”

    1. I have one divorce behind me and although it was absolutely the right decision that didn’t make it any the less stressful an experience. I’m on husband number two now and I really believe he’s a keeper!!

      It’s always good to hear from people who’ve been through a similar experience I think, because then you feel less alone in the world. One of the true beauties of the internet in my opinion.

      I’m always intrigued by your life – you should write a biography – I would buy it!

      I’m glad you found the right ‘one’ eventually.😉

  4. I am glad you are getting better, Sarah. I have missed you. 🙂
    I am on my own healing journey from depression and agoraphobia. I have good days and some not so good. I do see progress! I’ve gone from “one step forward, two back”, to “two steps forward, one back”. It is progress, is it not? 😉

    1. Thank you Lynda!

      I think we’ve been dancing the same dance. It is progress though and it’s a good feeling knowing that you’re getting there.

      I’ve missed blogging so much. It felt like someone had chopped my arm off or something.

  5. My daughter (35) and I (61) were talking about how she remembers me being the age she is now and how driven I was at that age. I did so much and just kept going. Now, I can do quite a bit but not for long periods. Enjoy the pace while you are still young. Oh, and take probiotics to stay healthy while you’re doing it.

    1. Thank you. I’m actually taking probiotics at the moment and I do feel better with them. But I notice I can only take them for two weeks or so and then it seems like it’s too much for me. Odd. So I take a break and then after a while I start up again.

  6. Glad to see you back and to read that you’re on the mend. It doesn’t matter how slowly you move as long as you keep going in the right direction🙂

    1. Thank you Bevchen! I’m so happy to be getting better, I know I have a way to go but it’s good to know that slowly and surely I’m on the way there.

Leave a Reply

