It’s a funny old Christmas


I’ve just spent two hours, I repeat, TWO HOURS looking for my husband’s main Christmas present.

I had hidden it, unwrapped (I know that for sure because other people keep nicking my wrapping paper, so I’ve not been able to do any careful packaging) but I suspected camouflaged by a carrier bag, in the walk-in cupboard, in the office.

I decided, after buying more paper (we had an embarrassing moment at the weekend when I had to hand over a gift wrapless) that today is the day for parcelling up the family packages. After all, my husband had been hovering in close proximity to the cupboard.

I waded in in a relatively relaxed manner and found a scrunched up carrier containing one or two little silly bits and pieces I had purchased for him, but the main present had gone. Vanished. Disappeared.

I attempted to stay calm as I pulled everything out of the cupboard and then put everything back in again. Then I decided I must have missed it, so I took everything out and looked through it again and shook my head and pulled out a few hairs and swore a little. OK, a lot.

It wasn’t there.

I panicked muchly as I realised that we’d recently visited the recycle place with loads of boxes. Perhaps it wasn’t in a plastic bag, but in a box and we’d chucked it?

The idea sent me quite dizzy so I decided that it was more probable that I’d accidentally parcelled it up and sent it to a friend in Scotland and that I would have to call her and tell her to return it. That I wasn’t quite that generous. I knew that it wouldn’t be here in time for Christmas, but at least, one day, he would, finally, hold his present in his hands.

I breathed and I thought through the parcel packing procedure. But I couldn’t imagine placing my husband’s gift, along with the other articles, in my friend’s box, in my mind’s eye. Not that that really meant anything. Last week I handed over a card to a friend and when she opened it, the card inside stated it was actually designated for a completely different friend. Who happens to live in Scotland. And is probably wondering who on earth Lili is. I apologised for the mix up and hoped that it was only two way. As in, not that Lili’s card was actually in the hand of yet another friend. And really, should that be the case, where could that friend’s card be?

I decided, after emptying the cupboard, and all of the boxes inside, three times, that there was no way that my husband’s present was in there. So I started ransacking my bedroom. I found shells under my bed. Along with straighteners that I hadn’t even known that I owned. And my blue rucksack disguising itself as dirty washing. But no matter in which drawer or in which cupboard I looked, I found no present. I scratched my head as I stared at the added mess I’d newly created.

I headed to the living room. Perhaps I’d been pawing his gift and he’d entered the house and I’d ran to the wall cupboard and lunged it up, up onto the top shelf? But no, I hadn’t.

I thought about Aden. He had hidden a present from his little sister and had hunted for it, distressed, the whole of last week before one of his older sisters had finally found it for him. He’d hidden it extra safe. Inside his wellie boot.

I stood still and just thought.

And thought.

And then, I ran upstairs to my daughter’s wardrobe. And there, on the top shelf, stood a box, barely visible, I opened it and I remembered:

I’d given the darn present to Joni, so that I wouldn’t lose it.

26 thoughts on “It’s a funny old Christmas”

  1. “Then I decided I must have missed it, so I took everything out and looked through it again.” I do this all the time. Then I look through it AGAIn because third time lucky and all that…

    Glad you found it in the end!

  2. Phew.
    I do things like that all the time, usually when I’ve bought presents early, forget about them, then realise that I’m missing someone’s parcel I’d ticked off as having got. Thankfully this year, no mishaps so far.

    1. I’ve done that too. Then I end up with a a couple of presents for next year, which I again forget I have… It’s a vicious cycle!

      Another thing I’ve done is buy chocolates and then eaten them. That’s always left me in a bit of a sticky pickle.

  3. Have you noticed, Sarah, that whenever you are urgently looking for something you manage to find everything else but first! Still, it is good when you find something you never knew you had!😉

  4. I’m always doing that (I don’t mean I’m always giving your daughter things to look after for me so that I don’t lose them!). I hide something in a place that seems perfectly logical at the time, and I’m sure I’ll remember and then I don’t! So annoying. Both my kids have their birthdays in December, so it’s not just Christmas that month, I have a whole load of things to hide all over the place! I usually come across some little hidden gift I had forgotten about around mid-January.

    1. Oh my goodness, December must be wild for you.

      I have the ‘putting things in a safe place’ syndrome. The place is so safe, it has be known that I never, ever, ever find them again. Even when I move house. How is that even possible?

  5. You are hysterical!

    Not least because I spent yesterday doing something similar, looking for my niece’s present, which HAD to go in the post yesterday.

    I found it at last, but then remembered I hadn’t yet bought her Dad’s present, so yesterday was spent shopping and posting is today.

    Next year, I’m doing my Christmas shopping in March.

    1. If I did my Christmas shopping in March, I’d have lost every present I’d bought by November and have to start shopping all over again.😀

      I like to be organised for Christmas and hate that last minute rush – why then, am I always in a last minute rush???

      Now I have a sick little one at home and I can’t get to the rest of the packing before the school breaks up. HELP!!!!

      Isn’t Christmas fun, Tilly?

  6. Oh my gosh, Sarsm, I’ve done this so many times. It seems you never find it while you’re still in a frenzy and it’s difficult to calm yourself down in order to allow your mind to think rationally. I always tell myself, “I’ll remember putting it here.” It’s good to know I’m not alone and I’m very glad that you eventually found it. Merry Christmas!!!

  7. Thank goodness the house I raised my kids in wasn’t very big so not too many places in which to misplace gifts. But let me tell you that now after they’ve all been raised I live in a larger house, only me and a rommate, and I swear there is a black hole that swallows things as they simply vanish. I’m so glad you found it after all. Have a wonderful New Year!!

Leave a Reply

