Squeezing it all in


“Mama, guess what I’m thinking, it starts with pffff… pffff… pffff…!”

Is how my week began.

“Fish? Flipper? Fin? Frog?”

Sat on the loo, surrounded by water, I took some inspiration.

Solemn head shakes proved my inabilities as a mind reader.

I thought further afield.

“Fun? Fire? Feather? Film?”

To more shakes.

After a few more desperate attempts including, “Feet?” and “Fly?” I gave up.

Computer!!!”

It really set the pointer for the week. Indeed, it describes my life. I live in a state of constant confusion.

In my disorganised over-stretched totally bloody knackered flustered condition, I have failed miserably and am therefore bringing you my 101 challenges update two whole weeks late.

I’m sure you’ll forgive me when you learn I have actually achieved quite a lot. Especially considering my current somewhat overwrought status. (But then again I have used up four full weeks instead of two?!?)

I’ve been marching on with the film challenge. I’ve watched True Grit (a thumbs up for that one), Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides (who can’t resist a bit of Johnny Depp?), Igor (fortunately, I slept through the middle bit, but I’m still counting it, after putting up with the torment, yes, it’s that bad), Treasure of Silver Lake (1962) and Winnetou 1. You’re probably thinking what? with the last two. They’re old German westerns and inspired by the fact that we took the kids to a live wild west show (that and my husband sees this challenge as a way to relive his childhood).

I’ve also been to three new restaurants, one as a date-night with a friend and the other two as stop offs to just-eat-something, while running backwards on this old merry-go-round I call life.

I’ve fitted in guinea-pigging my family with four fatifying new recipes including: banana muffins and cheats raspberry ice cream (from my new ‘Give yourself a heart attack’ recipe book).

And talking of food, I’ve landed myself another new challenge. Preparing a healthy playtime snack one Friday at Aden’s school. When asked yesterday at the parents meeting, I put my hand up, offering my help. “I could knock up a few simple muesli bars…” I looked around at all the other heads-and-hands-pointing-firmly-downwards parents, a little taken aback at their unwillingness to assist. All became clear when the teacher enthusiastically oohed and aahed and signed me up with my own blood to provide a healthy snack on my own for, oh, about 100 people. Gulp.

(None of those other mothers showed me the slightest bit of sympathy. They more looked at me with that death-stare expression: ‘you baked your own bed’…)

Excitingly, I also found someone I have not yet eaten sushi with. So ecstatic was I, I dragged the poor woman out of her house that very evening (no chance to back out on me ;-)). We had a delightful time and I think she’s now a convert.

I’ve also squeezed in going to the pool once and the gym twice. I am officially a gym failure. I suspect Michael, the gym master, hates me now.

Fantastically, we have a few new 101ers. Some are typing up their lists as you read this. Others are still to be *officially* added (by me anyway).

But please give a warm welcome to these two newcomers:

DAD TO LIBBS.com
momof8crazymonkeys

One of my challenges is to achieve 50,000 hits on my blog. Now it’s a ridiculous pipedream very tall order but this week the figure loomed rather nearer. I still can’t believe it but this post received a whopping 566 hits. I have had face ache all week, I can tell you.

Thank you!!

28 thoughts on “Squeezing it all in”

  1. Thanks for the shoutout.

    I’ve updated my ‘Day Zero’ list five times since I started, including one that I completed. I hope you’ll come by to check out the updates. I try to update once a week. Maybe I should have a certain day of the week to do updates, just like ‘Wordless Wednesday’, etc.

    1. You’re welcome.

      I will definitely come by. Some of us do updates on Fridays. But it’s entirely up to you. At first, I tried doing an update each week, but found I just didn’t have the time, so I went to once a fortnight. The last few weeks I’ve been so busy I missed the two-week deadline by two weeks.

      Once things are better with my son i.e. he’s finished with his daily hospital visits, I’ll have time to relax and read blogs again. (I’ve missed it). Yours is absolutely on my list.

  2. Well, congratulations on accomplishing so much this September! And yes, I can’t wait to hear how you do with that breakfast for 100 people. I can’t believe the other parents are so uncooperative. How un-German!

  3. Crikey, you like a challenge, don’t you?

    If you know any of these other parents perhaps you can coerce them into helping you? Delegation is the name of the game….

  4. Winnetou and Old Shatterhand. I loved these movies with the noble chieftain of the Apaches, Pierre Brice is his name right? Echoes of the past. Thank you for bringing them back Sarah! *hugs*
    And congratulations on your achievements😀 You will get to the 50K visits, I’m positive. Just keep on doing the funny witty stuff you do *grins*
    Have a nice week dear, and keep on writing!
    ~Mar

  5. Hey
    I’m glad we’ve got 1001 days is all I’m saying…next blog post I’ll try and mention where I’m up to, but apart from growing a beard (notice this is a ‘challenge’ which involves less effort than actually my normal everyday -shaved- life) I’m struggling. It will happen! Thanks for visiting my blog too.

    1. I remember thinking that at around your stage too. The enormity of the task suddenly hit me. But that subsides as you start to really tick things off.

      Enjoy your beard!

      I enjoyed visiting your blog, so you’re very welcome.

  6. I really need to do an update post. I’m going to schedule that for this weekend’s agenda. Thanks for being such a force of nature and crossing things off! You’re an inspiration.

  7. OMG your life is so busy! Three new restaurants in a week – and all those films. I’ve never seen True Grit, wasn’t sure about it – but you recommend it, hey. I like it when bloggers mention a movie, what they thought. Well, good luck with NEXT week!

    1. Ah – three restaurants in a month. I was totally late with my update. Still pretty good going, I think.

      Let me know what you think of True Grit – I really liked it. And you’re right, it’s good when bloggers recommend a film, I think. That’s why I watched Bridesmaids at the weekend actually!

Leave a Reply

