Hot and bothered


Damn it!

I left the living room for a moment and on my return I found it all hot and bothered.

OK. I took a little more than a moment.

After all, dressing myself involved intermittent whoops and prancing around semi-nakedness.

I have managed to secure us a little holiday. All six of us. An affordable holiday. We’re off to the south of France. I’ve booked a beach house in November. We’ll build sandcastles in the wind and window-shop through the glass of closed seasonal stores.

We’ll roam deserted beaches with rain or stormy sea-water splashing in our faces. We won’t jet ski. We won’t sunbathe. We won’t swim in the nice warm sea. But we may take our shoes off for a little paddle and warm ourselves up again running away across shell-splintered sands. *Note to self remember plasters.*

I am delirious.

Hence the whooping.

Not hence the semi-nakedness.

Bra’ed and panted I skipped to the wash-room only to discover that I’d forgotten to take the washing out of the machine. Again. Determined not to wash the load for a third time, I held my breath in an attempt to ignore the fusty smell. Mother Nature will help me, I decided. And if not there’s always Febreze.

I put on a new wash while being distracted by a four-year-old deciding to change her outfit again. For the love of God it’s not even 10:30 yet. Evidently, I was not distracted enough, because she managed to trap herself in a tightly closed belt. It took me several minutes to loosen the buckle enough for her to step out of the contraption. The whole time she tried to maintain a basic breathing function and hold in her tears.

One freed child later, we mounted the stairs together heaving one basket of smelly washing.

We entered the living room to be smacked in the face with a heat wall of 26°C.

One teenager having gone outside, to celebrate the sunshine and having forgotten to close the bloody door.

Chardonnay any one?

Holiday joy!

25 thoughts on “Hot and bothered”

  1. Fantastic! I love the South of France. We’re hoping to go soon too, but we’ll probably be camping. Fingers crossed it won’t be too cold in November for you. If you fancy a road trip inland I recommend Carcassonne.

    1. I’m hoping so too. At least it will be warmer than here. I’m really, really excited. We’ve only ever had one proper holiday together, so it will be really special!!

  2. Ooo me and my girlfriend was saying just yesterday we would both love to go to france. Hope you have a lovely time. Im rather jealous.
    Jessie.

    1. Normally, that particular kid is obsessed with shutting doors, we never utter the question, “Were you born in a barn?” A popular phrase in my own childhood…

      And thank you Barb – I’m really thrilled about my holiday.

  3. Sounds like a great trip and loved your anecdotes too. Where in france are you staying. On a big road trip a few years ago I spent a week camping in Agay which was a great base.

    1. I checked it out with google maps and it’s apparently just over 3 hour from Agay. Not too far from Nice.

      Were else did you go on your road trip?

  4. I’ve just been to France for two weeks. I stayed near Lake Annecy (that’s sort of heading towards the south of France, but not quite coastal). It was fab – You’ll have a great time.
    x

    1. We’ve only had one other proper family holiday, all of us together. We’ve been back and forward to Scotland a couple of times visiting. But you can’t class visiting as a holiday as it’s just too exhausting.
      I’m a holiday lover too. I’m sure it will be fab!!

    1. Do you have air conditioning? We don’t and it’s really hot inside too. none of us can sleep any more! But this weekend will be cooler again…

      1. Oh, we’d die without AC here, or at least be extremely miserable. Our summer (and sometimes Fall and Spring temperatures) can reach 40 to 45 degrees Celsius for days at a time. Another great time about the US (besides accessible public bathrooms).

      2. How do you manage outside?

        What temp. is it in winter?

        Some people do have AC here but it’s more unusual. Our temps can go up to 40 supposedly but I think the highest I’ve experienced here is around 37/38. Last week I think we hit 35 – I took the kids to the shops, at least some of the stores had AC.

      3. We avoid going out at the hottest times of the day if we can, and pick indoor activities if available. So we run from the air conditioned car to an air conditioned area! If we don’t have a choice, we try to find shade. No way I stay in the sun with those temperatures. Or find activities closer to the beach, where it’s 10 to 15 degrees cooler. We’re lucky we’ve had a mostly normal summer without very high temperatures like the rest of the US, so I can’t complain.

        In the winter, it can be 20 to 25 during the day if we’re lucky, often 15 to 20 degres celsisus. At night it can get really cold before we’re inland and it can freeze. Not good for plants growing outside… Think about the weather in the south of France, but inland, not right on the shore, where they get the cold from the Alps. If you’ve read A Year in Provence, when his pipes freeze during the winter, it reminds me a little of here.

      4. There’s not a beach around here but people go to natural or man made lakes.

        I haven’t read A Year in Provence – is it a must read?

        Since I’ve lived here, the coldest I’ve had to leave the house in was -18, horrible, horrible. Thanks for all the info – you can tell I’m British – liking to talk about the weather.😉

      5. If you’re looking for some very funny reading, you’ll enjoy A Year in Provence. Who doesn’t like to read about a British guy’s (mis)adventures as he decides to buy a villa in Provence? It would be worth reading before your trip, to have a good laugh and then make your own comparisons. I definitely recommend it. If we were neighbors, I’d lend you my copy.😉

Leave a Reply

