For the love of Mao


I recently noticed a reference to my blog from the very lovely, intelligent, sincere and honest Tilly Bud over at The Laughing Housewife. The quote landing on my blog looks exactly like this:

[...] forget to visit Sarsm and Perfecting Motherhood to see how their tasks are coming along.  If you are interested in [...]

Now, of course, knowing all about the loveliness of Tilly, I knew that the quote just looked a little dodgy, and that the missing word Don’t was an accidental miscalculation on the part of WordPress. So in order to show my amusement at the incident, I nipped over to her page and this is what I read:

Don’t forget to visit Sarsm and Perfecting Motherhood to see how their tasks are coming along.  If you are interested in having a go, contact Our Great Leader, Sarsm (she’s the one with control of the widgets). 

She is a great leader, actually: not only was this her idea, she also had the idea of adding a 101/1001 linkblogroll to the right, and she can build Baby Bear cupboards (they are just right for the space they need to be in).

Think about joining us; it really is fun.

I have told you that Tilly Bud is one of the most sharp, capable and perceptive women on the planet, haven’t I?

With my knowledge of Tilly’s great wisdom, I found it only good and proper to tell my family that from now on in my title is Our Great Leader, and from this moment forth, it is what I expect to be called.

My husband responded with the following comment:

“Like Mao?”

This led us to researching the matter on the all-informative Wikipedia. My husband typed in Great Leader then read aloud:

    • Chairman Mao
    • Kim Jong-Il
    • and Gordon Brown?!?

The only name I found of interest was Gandhi.