That’s a day in the life of a typical teenage girl


They stay in their beds
don’t raise their sleepy heads

There’s noise all around
but they do not hear a sound

Then they can’t sleep at night,
have trouble switching off the light

The bathroom’s full of potions
all kinds of creamy lotions

The wardrobe’s full of clothes
but they’ve nothing to enrobe

When they see a boy
their gestures are all coy

They start to giggle
at every dash and every squiggle

Then they are enraged
by such small things, I’m amazed

They don’t hear me speak
as their ear phones pulsate musique

They’re never alone
someone’s always on the phone

They go to the shops
know just how to spend the dosh

Yet when I am sad
they take a moment
make me glad
with a cuddle and a kiss
and a heartfelt wish
and a look in their eye
that shows
they understand why.

20 thoughts on “That’s a day in the life of a typical teenage girl”

    1. They liked it too. Although they argued which bit applied to which person… I forgot to add, ‘will find an argument in an empty room!’ 😉

    1. 10 and 11 I think, are the hardest ages for girls (so far, my eldest is almost 16). I think that if you can build a good relationship with them then, then you’re pretty much sorted. They’ll have their moments, of course, but the work that you put in age 10 and 11, works wonders. 🙂

  1. sharp..smiles.

    Invite you to join poets rally week 42, awards are given to first time participants.

    You will love the encouragements you get once you are in and make commitment.

    Love your blog and writing style.

    You Rock!
    xxx

    visit me and find the link in my post.

  2. I raised two girls myself who are now married with children of their own and so
    now have a teenage granddaughter. Yes, it is starting all over again. Nicely done.

    1. I am actually a believer that if you reassess your relationship with them age 10 – 11 so that you have good open lines of communication and can share a laugh (and hugs are very important, but I already know you’re good at that ;-)) then it’s much lighter later on. My eldest is almost 16 and I hope I won’t have to eat my own words!!

Leave a Reply

