Uncle John


To My Dearest Uncle John
I’m sad to hear
that you’ve left us
that you’ve gone.

I’m sad
that I won’t
see your face
once again
that I won’t
hear your laugh,
I won’t see your smile
I can’t tell you
I love you
with the love
of a child.
One who adores
those stories of old
to be told and told.

A warm-hearted soul
A cheeky glint in the eye
laughter flows
from someone who knows
how to enjoy life,
a kind, kind man
oozing honesty and goodness
who showed me simply:
What Is Right.

6 thoughts on “Uncle John”

Leave a Reply

