The year of the big 0


As you may have noticed I have not been blogging so much of late.

No, it’s not the fact that four children take up an incredible amount of my time.

I have been a little ill, but that’s also not the main reason for me abandoning my post.

My desertion derives from my excessive levels of celebrating. My festivities have taken me to such levels that my fingertips have no longer been able to tap the light fantastic across the keyboard.

It used to be that the first half of my calendar, until about the middle of July to be exact, screamed out one birthday event after another. But after a set July date, everything calmed right down to a ‘from time to time’ occasional occurrence.

In recent years however, with the growth of the family and the addition of new friends, the tide has turned. Well,  the celebrations during the second half of the year are at least able to equal those in the first half.

And this year is even more special. Three friends have married within four months of one another. One is now engaged. And several are pregnant.

Furthermore, a growing trend has meant that since September we have had a constant stream of invitations to birthdays ending in the number 0. In fact, in just the past week, we have been to a 30th and a 40th  party, wished a happy 40th birthday to a friend in another land and just for a little icing on the cake, sent our daughter to her school friend’s, yes, you guessed it, birthday party.

Now, it’s not just the parties themselves that take up my time. It’s the present buying. And even more time-consuming, the actual thinking up of what present I should  purchase.

I like to give my friends something I think they will particularly like (I’m sure I don’t always get it right) but honestly, I really, really do try. But lately I have found myself quite often, literally,  stumped. And a couple of times I’ve actually found myself panic buying (never good – I recently bought a mass of chocolate for a diabetic).

Oops!

So, I’m sure you now understand, that the time I would usually set aside for blogging has been somewhat taken over by mass shopping trips and the afore-mentioned partying. But I have also been doing something else and that is thinking about my own ever looming 40th birthday. Speeding towards me at an imposing rate, I have now only a little over a year and a half before I reach the milestone.

And it has taken me all of this time to realize how different I am from the people who surround me.

You see all of the (very lovely) parties I have been to lately have been in restaurants or hired halls with food being delivered by a caterer. The food has on all occasions been delicious and the atmosphere friendly and inviting.

But the image I have had in my head, to celebrate my fortieth year on the planet, is of a bouncy castle in the garden.

I discussed this notion with my husband recently, who informed me that people would love it. They would find it such a thoughtful idea for their kids.

Then he looked at me strangely as I meekly admitted, “It was for the grown ups.”

Of course, what makes my suggestion somewhat more ludicrous, is the fact that I have both a dodgy knee and a dodgy foot.

*Please note any children in attendance at bouncy castle party, would be permitted, if shoe-less, to bounce on said castle*

4 thoughts on “The year of the big 0”

  1. Super blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes and also the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

    1. Thank you for your comment. You can subscribe using the email link on the right hand side of the blog or if you’re on facebook you can add yourself to my fan page. I notify the fan page each time I write a new article. Take care.

Leave a Reply

