Being 16


My 16 year old daughter came home from school today and handed me an envelope and told me to read it.

Being a mother of four I felt my stomach drop right out of my bottom as I thought: what now?

But actually, what I read delighted me so much I decided to share it with you.

Joni’s teacher asked her class to write themselves a motivational letter at the beginning of the year and today it was returned to them. This is what she had written:

Joni!

Hey, how are ya doing? Still going strong? You would have got your first grades by now. Hope you’re doing well! :) I suppose it’ll be funny to read this later… Remember, you’ve got to try hard to do well. If you got some bad grades in Maths/Physics, just try again. You’ll do fine. :) Think of the book prize at the end! You want to get it this year, don’t you? And don’t forget that abi’s (German qualification) not far off, if you do well now, it’ll be easier then!

Don’t get nervous about things which aren’t anywhere near happening yet. :)

Doing Drama class? Is it good? Remember last year’s show… It was amazing! Loads of fun. Don’t be scared.

How about M.? In proper contact again? Smile at him at school, don’t ignore him! If he’s nice, he’ll make an effort too. But if it doesn’t work out, that’s okay ‘cos there’s plenty of fish in the sea. :) You’ll find the right one, wait if you have to. :)

Give support to Aden (brother), but don’t forget Loz (sister) and Kashi (sister).

And if things are still funny with N., you’ve always, always got your family. :)

Sending, well… love I suppose … xD

Joni x

I asked about her feelings about the letter. She said, “I’m such a nice person.”

31 thoughts on “Being 16”

  1. A wonderful letter and you should be proud of your daughter for being an inspiration to herself. The post I told you about that shocked me is up today. I have a ‘twin”.

    1. Definitely!! I’m doing the ‘letter to be opened in 10 years’ as one of my challenges. I want to write it just before my 40th so I can open it just before my 50th.

  2. How nice she could write such a positive note to herself. Congratulations on raising a mentally healthy kid.

    PS as you can see I broke through the comment barrier today. Poltergeist, I blame the poltergeist. Dianne

    1. I’m so glad your comments are finally breaking through!! Thank you for your persistence.

      She’s such a positive kid. When I’m feeling off, she pops me right back on my feet again.

  3. What a brilliant letter your daughter wrote – you must be so proud of her.
    Well done on raising such a positive and optimistic human being!

    1. Thank you!!

      I think one of the biggest gifts you can give your children is to teach them to appreciate the little things in life.

  4. :-D Joni wie sie leibt und lebt (I don’t know how to say this in English properly… as she lives and breathes?) And yes, she IS a nice person!

Leave a Reply

