“I’ve Been Tagged So, I’m It!”


I’ve been tagged by Tom at Tom Baker’s Morning Erection (what an awesome blog name). Now like Tom, I’m a brilliant procrastinator (I’ve still got all but one of my awards to blog about) so I made an effort to be good this time and stapled myself to the chair and started typing.

Tagging apparently, goes like this:

1. You must post the rules.
2. Answer the questions the tagger set for you in their post and then create eleven new questions to ask the people you’ve tagged.
3. Tag eleven people and link to them on your post.
4. Let them know you’ve tagged them!

Tom asked me 11 interesting questions. Gulp. I’ll answer them as well as I can.

Here goes:

1. If you were forced to change the name of your blog what would you change it to?

This is a particularly good question for me because I just happened to be discussing it with a fellow blogger the other day.
My blogging name is Sarsm, right? Well, had I thought about it properly I doubt very much I would have picked that name. When I started the blog, I had no idea it would be so successful and, if I had, I wouldn’t have named myself after an Asian virus. Really people, what was I thinking?
Truth be told I typed the name in because ‘Sars’ has been my nickname since I was a small child (I blame all those cousins) and the ‘m’ is from my surname. In my dinosauric approach to blogging, I thought I was using Sarsm as a user name and that “Quest for humour in my existence” was my blog name (as thought up by my husband).
If I changed it, I might opt for my twitter name: Pigsdontswim which is pretty cool. But my then three-year old came up with that as it was the title of one of her favourite books at the time. Better not, just in case I get sued.

I could just go with ‘Dinosauric Approach’… No?

2. How would you spend today if you knew it was your last day to live?

I would spend it with my family. 100% quality time with them. I don’t think it would matter really what we would do, just that we were together. Hopefully, though, there would be a lot of laughter.

3. What is you most guilty pleasure?

Er… My children read this page. ;-)

I’ll go with hiding and eating chocolate. Er…

4. What is your most favorite smell?

Chocolate?

OK. Food in a really nice restaurant. And the anticipation – it’s for me!!!

5. Who would you most want to interview on your blog?

I’ve never thought about it. Since it’s a question where anything is possible I’ll go with my dad. He died when I was seven.

6. What is your biggest pet peeve?

I’m quite a bad person here because I have a few. I don’t like people smoking around children. That gets me every time.

7. What is your favorite word in the English language?

I don’t have one. But I would like it to be lottery as in “Sarsm – you’ve won the lottery!” Though, in all honesty, it would be my husband calling and saying, “Lickle, we’ve won the lottery!!” because he’s the one who plays!

Now, if you’d said two words Tom, that would be simple: Book deal. :-)

8. What is your favorite word in another language?

Awesome (American). ;-)

9. What do your favorite pair of underwear look like?

Black. Shiny. Small. ;-)

10. Do you think the world is going to end this year?

No. I still have a lot of challenges to finish and I wouldn’t have started something that didn’t end until 2013 because I like to succeed too much.

11. If a movie was made based on your life, what actor/actress would play you?

Well, she’d need to have long brown hair… OK, I guess that could be dyed. A loud voice when necessary… A wobbly belly. South pointing boobs! The ability to laugh and cry at the same time… Be able to run really fast through a building with burning stuff without setting anything else on fire, on a regular basis. She’d need an ankle that clicks when she walks down the stairs. Not up. So far, at least, that’s not mandatory.

I think Angeline Jolie could take a shot at it. What do you think?

Now I get to ask 11 bloggers 11 questions:

The Bloggers:

The Laughing Housewife
Perfecting motherhood
Piglet in Portugal
Local Heart, Global Soul
One Life
Figments of a Dutchess
Northern Mummy with Southern Children
Read Between the Minds
dampsquid
Nailing Jello To A Tree
Psue’s Blog

(Because they have to answer the same questions I’ve tried picking 11 bloggers with very different blogs/backgrounds)

♦♦♦

The Questions:

  1. If there were no constraints, where in the world would you choose to live right now?
  2. How would you fight terrorism?
  3. Would you go (or have you been) in a hot air balloon?
  4. Apart from Tilly Bud, what’s your favourite chocolate/sweet? Mrs. Malteser, what’s your second favourite?
  5. What was your favourite subject at school?
  6. What unusual talent do you have?
  7. What triggered you to start blogging?
  8. If we went to a bar together and I bought you a drink, what would you order?
  9. What ultimately do you/would you wish for your children?
  10. What’s the best pizza topping?
  11. Which TV show can’t you miss?

26 thoughts on ““I’ve Been Tagged So, I’m It!””

      1. Could you please have a little more patience? Having computer problems, which will be fixed this coming weekend. As in a brand new PC. Then I’ll tag along ;)

      2. I have lots of patience for such things. No problem at all. Are you excited about your new PC or are you at the moment still reeling about the problems with the old one?

  1. Great answers Sarsm! Excellent and I hope when you stood up the staples did not hurt too much. I still think it’s an awesome blog name but I have a post coming up soon that may shock everyone! Duh, duh, duh… It shocked me.

  2. My dear friend…please forgive me but I’m not much on awards and tagging but I shall answer you questions since I aways enjoy what you write…I must admit that your experiences have provided a great deal of laughter for me…still think you should write a book about them…it would be a best seller I’m sure…so here goes.

    The Questions:

    1.If there were no constraints, where in the world would you choose to live right now?

    In the French countryside

    2.How would you fight terrorism?

    Don’t believe there’s a solution because it’s a religious war…and religious wars go on forever.

    3.Would you go (or have you been) in a hot air balloon?

    No…why would one want to tempt fate in such a way.

    4.Apart from Tilly Bud, what’s your favourite chocolate/sweet? Mrs. Malteser, what’s your second favourite?

    Have given up sweets…but there is nothing like an excellent creame brulee for which I would walk miles.

    5.What was your favourite subject at school?

    Science

    6.What unusual talent do you have?

    None

    7.What triggered you to start blogging?

    Talked into it by a friend.

    8.If we went to a bar together and I bought you a drink, what would you order?

    White wine

    9.What ultimately do you/would you wish for your children?

    I got nothting here.

    10.What’s the best pizza topping?

    There are few if any bad pizza toppings.

    11.Which TV show can’t you miss?

    Don’t watch much TV…Democracy Now would be one I would miss if not on the air.

    1. I’m working on the book. Well, I need to edit it… So sort of. ;-)

      Thank you so much for answering the questions (anyway)!! I too LOVE creme brulee!! I would be drinking wine too!!!

  3. Hey,
    thanks for the mention. Due to time constraints I am really sorry but I’ve stopped participating in Awards. Not because I don’t want them it’s just I spent several hours a couple of weeks ago trying to compile a post because I had at least 5 Awards pending. The upshot was, I became so stressed and upset because of time constraints I then thought – hang on I would rather spend my time making comments on these peoples’ blogs. Comments and likes are the best awards a fellow blogger can give. Or even linking back on photo challenges or in your case the 101/1001…geesh I’ve just realised I’ve not done updated that and written a post – now on my to do list! Has my garbled explanation made sense?

    I will answer your questions here :)

    If there were no constraints, where in the world would you choose to live right now?
    France to be with my daughter and baby granddaugter

    How would you fight terrorism?
    You can’t they are fanatics and you can’t reason with fanatics.

    Would you go (or have you been) in a hot air balloon?
    No, I like the idea, but I would be scared of the landing

    Apart from Tilly Bud, what’s your favourite chocolate/sweet? Mrs. Malteser, what’s your second favourite?
    Cadbury’s Cream eggs…hmmm chocolate “or…..” don’t bother counting the dots I guessed the spelling :)

    What was your favourite subject at school?
    Art and history
    What unusual talent do you have?
    I am just ordinary. No special talents I’m afraid

    What triggered you to start blogging?
    My daughter started a blog called Piglet in France. She helped me set up my blog.

    If we went to a bar together and I bought you a drink, what would you order?
    Wine :)

    What ultimately do you/would you wish for your children?
    To be happy and try and make them understand material things do not matter.

    What’s the best pizza topping?
    Not keen on pizza, but I would say, tuna, tomatoes, oregano, with an egg broken over the top off the pizza

    Which TV show can’t you miss?
    I don’t watch TV…but if I had to choose one it would be the Apprentice with Alan Sugar.

    1. You make a lot of sense!!!!

      I have posts, half-written piling up (some of them from last June!) and I need to find the time and the right mood to write them. Then awards make you feel under pressure because someone has gone to the effort to think of you. I think, personally too, writing those kind of posts, for me, is quite different to what I normally write. Because I’m quite centric in the post (rather than my children/my thoughts/a situation/a discussion). I have the same problem when I’m given a present: I like it that someone thought of me, I (generally) like the gift but I feel funny being the center of attention!!
      Then I leave it and think of blogs I could nominate and then the next time I visit them what do you know, they already have that nomination from someone else!!

      Blogging I think, is very time consuming in general. I really appreciate that you answered the questions here! Thank you.

      And re your updates – no pressure.

      In response to your answers – I totally love your pizza topping!! Does your daughter still blog? Can you get Cream Eggs in Portugal? You can’t here. *Sob*

  4. Thanks Sarsm,
    A lot of soul searching went into this response as the last thing I wanted to do was offend anyone.
    One of my blogging buddies Enjoy Creating had the courage to make a post on her blog a few weeks ago.

    I think so many blog awards are doing the rounds now it’s become impossible. Trouble is anyone can create an award (look up MEME)…so I hearby nominate you for “Piglet’s People” only awarded to my favourite bloggers. :)

    1. Thank you so much for the nomination!! ;-)

      I know, I feel the same. I don’t want to offend anyone but not doing it.

      Another thing I think is about my readers, I don’t think they particularly want to read about awards all the time.

      1. Your readers is another consideration, but I do remember when I received my first award I was over the moon. However if you write about it every week…
        I am still toying with an idea to promote new bloggers in someway. It would be great to direct people to their blogs!

      2. I was over the moon with the first one too!!! ;-) And in general, I think it’s a really nice thing being the recipient. Someone thought about you and went to the effort, that’s always nice.

        Could you do the promoting new bloggers as one of your challenges? I have one here, she’s joining our challenge and is a brand new blogger:

        http://makesmewander.com/

  5. My replies here http://pseu1.wordpress.com/2012/03/01/tagged-twice/ to Sarsm’s questions along with another tagging set of questions….

    If there were no constraints, where in the world would you choose to live right now? Here on the whole is fine… though I’d love a reliable Summer!

    How would you fight terrorism? Education has to be the key….

    Would you go (or have you been) in a hot air balloon? Yes, I have been up there!! In Australia over the Red Centre.

    What’s your favourite chocolate/sweet? I’m not a great sweet eater… a little dark chocolate goes down well, and occasionally I fancy a piece of crystallised ginger

    What was your favourite subject at school? Biology

    What unusual talent do you have? I can wiggle my ears and dance my eyebrows!

    What triggered you to start blogging? See above Q1 of Sidey’s questions.

    If we went to a bar together and I bought you a drink, what would you order? Depends… on the weather, the location and what you’re drinking….maybe a Campari and Orange or Campari and Soda, or a glass of white wine – perhaps red. Or if there was a good bitter on tap I may try that.

    What ultimately do you/would you wish for your children? A contented state of mind, with steady and happy relationships, a drive to do well, but not to the exclusion of another’s happiness and enough money to keep safe, clothed and fed.

    What’s the best pizza topping? Meh. Can I have the pasta instead… or the salad?

    Which TV show can’t you miss? I can miss most stuff on TV, but don’t take the radio away! I will watch stuff to be amused, especially when ironing.

  6. Well, between you and Pseu, I’ve now been tagged twice, so I’m not sure how I’m going to do this. I’ve already received two other blog awards recently so I think I’ll write about all of them at once, when I find a minute (ha!).

Leave a Reply

