It s’not a home any more


If you happened to visit me right at this moment, you’d be forgiven for thinking you’d mistakenly walked into a dispensing chemist. Or a doctor’s surgery. No one would institutionalise you for imagining you’d set foot in a small hospital.

If your nose, unlike mine, happened to be unblocked, you’d be hit by the stench of vicks. Followed by a lingering aroma… Puke.

You’d be shocked by precautionary ‘sick’ bowls scattered around. But as you bump back down to earth, please note that there are four children in this house and one elderly lady almost forty-year old, who’s knee is so wrecked she can’t hit the bathroom floor at full pelt like she used to (as is sometimes required during projectile vomiting).

If you are planning a visit, could you please bring a new bottle of cough linctus? The one we started at the beginning of the week will not survive until the end of the day… And a box of lovely soft tissues? We’re approaching an emergency use-bum-roll-in-the-facial-region situation.

Also, could you send in an industrial strength cleaner? He/she’ll probably need to wear a face mask… Actually, tell them to bring ear plugs too… To block out the sound of the cheerful Tweenies who are presently trying to sing the five-year old well again.

Thank you. In advance.

I’m not being forward, am I?

You’re sure?

In that case, is there any chance of some chicken soup?

16 thoughts on “It s’not a home any more”

  1. Sun, come here please and shine on Sarah’s house! She needs your healing warmth. And her kids too!
    Ow sweetie, this is not an easy winter for you! The only way to conquer this, is to go right through it and ride out this cold wave.
    Sending warm hugs and a sunny smile. The rest you will have to get at the pharmacy xx

    1. It’s -15 here today Marion and I’m so glad I don’t have to outside!!! In the next weeks though, winter should be over, thankfully. I’m really looking forward to the warm rays of the sun on my face.

      Thank you, but no chicken soup?

      1. I’m so sorry, have to leave for work in an hour so I won’t be able to make it to your place. And I have to make the soup first. Is it alright if I send you a chicken, and you chase it through a broth?

  2. if I could I would use my very limited cooking knowledge (eat at your own risk) and make chicken soup for you but you don’t wanna add food poisioning to everything you are coping with. :-) So please settle for a get well soon.

    1. ;-)

      No I definitely don’t want food poisoning!! But I’ll take your sympathy and good wishes.

      My 16yo has just arrived and is making us ill ones tea and toast. *At this point the mother kicked herself and wondered why she’d never bothered to teach the girl how to make chicken soup*

  3. oh sarah, seid ihr denn alle krank? wie schrecklich. Schade, dass ich so weit wegwohne, ansonsten wäre ich im Schutzanzug mit dem Industriereiniger zu euch gekommen.
    Gute Besserung.

    1. I think we have that mixed with some kind of evil flu-like thing. I’m telling you, we could repaint our entire house green. OK, that was a bit graphic!! Let’s just say, green is not my favourite colour.

Leave a Reply

