I’m back…


I’m back.

Did you miss me?

And you’ll be pleased to know that I’ve been ticking off challenges… With a vengeance.

Despite the fact that we attended two birthday parties last week and organised one ourselves. But I’m not going to tell you about that in this post. No. It’s so good, it deserves a post all of its very own.

So firstly, I can now add two more films to my ‘watched list’, both starring Angelina Jolie: The Tourist and Salt. I can recommend both. That’s all I’m saying. Just go and watch them.

I also, unexpectedly, found myself trying out a new restaurant with a good friend. An Italian. The starter was delicious, but I did feel a bit concerned about eating tomatoes because of the E. coli outbreak here.

Yep. That’s right. E. coli. And with that in mind, give a thought to the sixteenth birthday party which planned to feed fifty people barbecued meat and salad.

I felt ever-so-slightly-frantic as I tried to think how to substitute tomatoes, cucumber and salad leaves.

News bulletins warned us off such produce. Especially the evil Spanish cucumber.

The supermarkets though, tried to convince us otherwise, with radically reduced cucumbers, in a bid to sway tempt-able customers.

I found myself ramming a half empty trolley around the shop (during my household shopping trip, not my sweet sixteenth shopping trip, but there will be a post about that later, promise) feeling uncertain about what to buy. I left the store with a still half empty trolley because, after all, I’m the one responsible here for what my family consumes and so I decided to play it safe.

But what about our five a day? It’s somewhat lacking. Do olives from a jar count?

Anyway, back to my 101 challenges. Last week I could excitedly cross off two. :-D

The flag counter hit 101 flags. Actually, I didn’t notice (what with party planning/present wrapping/and wringing my hands about tomatoes and cucumbers) but a vigilant reader did and wrote to me with ‘Congratulations’. I have exceptionally nice readers you know…

The second challenge to be ticked: Reini and I took all of the children to Wiblingen Monastery. Very nice. I couldn’t take any pictures as it’s not allowed. But if you’re interested the Wikipedia page is here.

I really liked it there. Well, apart from when the cashier asked if all of our four children really belonged to us, on us asking for a family ticket. She made it much better though, when she crowed to my husband, what a  lucky man he is to have such a young-looking wife, and that I could pass for another daughter.

Technically, that makes him rather unlucky though, because I’m three whole years older than him. (He tries to count it as four, between July and October, but he’s somewhat unconvincing). And if I could pass myself off as another daughter, then isn’t she suggesting, on the other hand, that he hasn’t aged well?!?

We took a tour of the beautiful library which naturally led to two of four children asking plenty of both relevant and completely irrelevant questions.

Actually, we’d decided to coincide our visit with a middle ages market and a knights tournament taking place in the grounds of the monastery. We’d seen the posters, read up on it on the internet and my husband (please note, not I) reread the start times a few minutes before we left the house.

As we arrived, we noticed that there were very few cars there…

It turned out that we were a whole week too early.

Especially good, because during that week, even the month would change. From May to June.

I do blame my husband. I know, I read the posters myself, (but remember party planning/present wrapping/and wringing my hands about tomatoes and cucumbers) however, he proved himself to be the eager one because only a couple of days later he also turned up one week too early at the dentist.

I rest my case.

Apart from that, after a lot of to-ing and fro-ing I’ve added a new challenge to plant veg in the garden. I’m such a non-gardener living in the fantasy world of being an actual gardener.

In other words, I really want things to grow, but am better at killing them instead.

So, after toying with the idea for a while, I decided it would be a top challenge for me. I have a dream of being able to eat something I’ve actually grown.

So excited am I, that I started the challenge right after listing it! I hope in a few short weeks we’ll be able to eat our own tomatoes, salad leaves and cucumber.

And to top all that folks, we have another new challenger again!! Welcome and all the best to:

http://heroblues.wordpress.com/2011/05/29/1011001/

The other 101ers are listed at the side of my page. Check them out and give them your support!

10 thoughts on “I’m back…”

  1. Good for you for growing your own produce! We’ve got pepper plants just beginning to bloom, so I’m excited to cross a few more off of my 101!

    1. Amazing huh? But actually everything is made of wood (not stone and metal) and painted.
      At that time wood was actually more expensive than stone though (according to the tour guide).

  2. Congrats on, well, everything! This is such an upbeat post i feel i ought to congratulate you for all the money you saved at the supermarket.

  3. I couldn’t help but laugh at the comment from the cashier about your 4 kids. Maybe she thought you looked too young and didn’t lose all your marbles yet that they couldn’t be all yours…
    I also love your scheduling mishap. We once showed up at a kid’s birthday party a day early, so I know how you feel.
    I heard the E coli mystery has been solved (alfafa sprouts, stay away!) so you may be able to eat your 5 a day before stuff actually grows in your garden.

    1. You’re not alone! Guests came to us once a day early for a child’s birthday party. The mother was really embarrassed. But really, better a day to early than too late!! :-D

      Yeah, the bean/alfalfa sprouts are being blamed now. But the first tests all came back negative, so there’s still uncertainty. They have to wait a few more days for the second set of results. It doesn’t mean it’s not the sprouts though, as I understand. I watched ‘an expert panel’ debating it the day before yesterday, each one had different advice. One said avoid pre-packed and washed salad, another said avoid salad that someone else washes like in a cafe/restaurant another said something else. ‘Salad’ still came up quite a lot though.
      The definite good news is that the number of cases at the moment is dropping.

Leave a Reply

