Introducing Lori…


I took my twelve-year-old out for dinner last night.

Actually, that’s why I’m up before 6am on a Sunday. Seems my dinner (yummy though it was) and my stomach did have some falling out and the food found itself evicted. But we won’t go into that.

Anyway, Lori (the twelve-year-old) chatted continuously all through dinner. As is her art. She really is quite an entertaining eating companion. If you can keep up with her, that is. She speaks with incredible speed. I think it’s because she has so much to say about the world and it’s dog.

And she can eat. I know she’s growing, but the portions at the restaurant were huge. She polished off a starter and a main and then had an extra portion of wild potatoes. Then inquired politely about dessert. Luckily for my wallet, my stomach and my starter had commenced battle, so we made a sharp exit.

But sitting here now, alone, in the middle of the night, there’s a line I feel the need to tell you about from the whole conversation.

I asked Lori how she’s feeling now about her EUR 100, stolen by the post (Outraged by the post) and she answered:

“I just keep thinking how much of the rain forest that money could have saved, dumb isn’t it?”

Wait a moment. I have a tear in my eye.

OK. That’s better.

Did I tell you that Lori used her Christmas money to join the WWF?

Introducing Lori… Our environmentalist. :-D

6 thoughts on “Introducing Lori…”

Leave a Reply

