The million dollar question…


WordPress asked today:

What would you do with a million dollars, tax free?

Well, firstly I’d change it into Euro’s.

Which is EUR 733,837.

Sounds a lot, right?

Wrong.

Because we have four whole children and children are very expensive.

This article in the Guardian on 23rd February 2010 states that the cost of bringing up one child has now reached more than £200,000.

Gulp.

Which is EUR 238, 237 per child. Times four. That’s EUR 952,948.

Of course, the Guardian is basing their article on British children and in Britain, parents receive a lot less child benefit than here in Germany. But then here, we have to pay for school bus passes and supplement school costs.

Parents in Germany must provide some books, all paper and exercise books, paint and other art materials. Scissors, glue etc. To top that children’s clothes and shoes are generally more expensive.

For the sake of the argument, let’s just call it even.

Now, in my case, I would not need to spend the full million dollars on child rearing because being 15, 12, 10 and 4 years old, they are somewhat invested in already.

An added bonus is that I’m a stay at home mum. So I haven’t, in general, had to spend much on child care. Reducing my overall costs of raising my children.

Thus meaning I might, from a million dollar windfall, have enough money for a nice family holiday.

14 thoughts on “The million dollar question…”

  1. If I had a million dollars, I would save some of it for retirement (being a good girl) and then would travel around the world! OK, will give some to others who need it, too.

  2. I’ve done a little calculating myself. I’d have that million spent in no time! Used to seem like a lot (still does really) but its amazing how fast it could be spent. Pay off house, pay off cars, pay off student loans, pay off other deb, pay for kids in college now, pay for kid who will be in college in 15 years, sock a bit away – GONE!

Leave a Reply

